top of page

MOOD BOARD

Updated: Apr 3, 2020

My attempt at a mood board activity that I came across. I used Morpholio to complete this "project" and really enjoyed the process.


A prompt for a creativity "assignment" that I came across was to, essentially, create a mood board for a refresh of the living room of a prospective client. I decided on an updated traditional style because that seemed the most streamlined to me.


(I definitely want to try Bohemian, Eclectic, MidCentury Modern next!)


I came up with a story about the family to help frame my thought process.


"Potential clients Mr. and Mrs. Smith requested a fresh transitional style update to their living room. They have an active lifestyle, two young children, and two pets. They love traveling, reading, and spending time outdoors.


Neutrals and blues were my inspiration for this space because of their calming, relaxing effects, which the family could look forward to enjoying after a full day. Keeping in mind that they have young children and pets, I chose pieces of Rowe furniture because they offer a special Kid-Proof fabric that is durable, stain-resistant, odor-resistant, and liquid repellent. I customized the Fuller Sectional Couch to be a neutral, cozy, off-white color with two textured navy outer pillows and an accent pillow with an indigo design. I also customized the Fuller Chairs to have a textured Ice Blue fabric with coordinating nail trim and finish to the sectional. The circular coffee table, with the smaller circular inset, will go in the center of the seating. The insert can be moved around as desired. The circular pieces were chosen so there won’t be corners that the kids could hurt themselves on. These pieces are situated on top of the beautifully distressed light blue area rug, which is also highly resistant to stains, fading, and moisture.



 

01) Yarn by Magnolia Home

02) True White by Magnolia Home

03) Lafayette Fashion Allure Transitional Shades/Accu-Rise/Semi-Opaque/Hypnotic Ice White

04) Iron Lighting

05) Rowe, Fuller Sectional Couch

06) Whitacre 2 Piece Coffee Table Set

07) Lindsay Von Art

08) White Wash Twig Sunburst Mirror

09) Smoke Truffle Lamp(s)

10) Chessani Media Console

11) Fiddle Leaf Fig Tree

12) Brandt Light Blue/Ivory Area Rug

13) Rowe, Fuller Chairs

14) Rattan Basket

15) Magnolia Home Lucy Throw Blanket in Ivory/Blush

 

A beautiful piece of artwork from a local artist will be the focal point above the fireplace. The gold candle arrangement will be featured on the mantle. For a pop of organic color, I’ve included a Fiddle Leaf Fig tree. Right inside the entry, I’ve positioned a beautiful wood console table that will have the fun Twig Sunburst Mirror above it and the beautiful blue lamps on it. The rattan basket can be used for throw blanket storage, such as this fun textured blush throw, and/or quick cleanup of toys or other miscellaneous items. The walls will be painted in this crisp and inviting neutral combination of beige and gray called Yarn by Magnolia Home. The Crown Moulding, base moldings, fireplace, mantle, and casings will be painted True White by Magnolia Home. Allure Accu-Rise (a cordless system, safe for both small children and pets) Transitional Shades in Hypnotic Ice White are proposed for the window treatments because it’s a nice textured white, which will provide intrigue without overwhelming the space.


Finally, since the family loves to read, I would suggest a set of built-in bookshelves on either side of the fireplace. There, they can house their books, decorative pieces from places they’ve traveled to, and even use the bottom half for additional storage. Picture at bottom right for inspiration."

Using my research skills to produce creativity was a process that I never thought I'd be able to bring into a job, so this realization was very empowering for me.

I really loved pushing myself and researching the different styles, fabrics, furniture, etc., and being creative during this "project". The sofa and chairs you see in my mood board were actually customized by me on the Rowe Furniture website. Personalizing furniture, even for the fictitious family, felt... exciting! Using my research skills to produce creativity was a process that I never thought I'd be able to bring into a job, so this realization was very empowering for me. Eventually I’d love to learn how to think like an interior designer and be able to execute a clients vision! I'm definitely getting there!


Having a back story, even if it's fully made up, really helped me envision how this family could utilize their living room. I'm sure that it's more involved than this when you're putting it into real life, but I LOVED this process!


What is your favorite way to be creative? Are you more imaginative or do you also prefer a prompt?

4 views0 comments
bottom of page