top of page

Sunrise

Updated: Feb 10, 2021


The more I get to know myself, I’m finding that being in nature brings me a very visceral joy. I find endless inspiration when I’m out seeing landscapes, especially around the mountains or ocean. I really enjoy watching everything from each particular biome to ecosystem with the intricate flora and fauna (except for you, bugs).




Part of getting to know myself has been learning to slow down and take in everything around me. I believe God communicates with us from every avenue possible.


And my God likes to show off to me - He never misses an opportunity to stun me with a sunrise.



Waking up for a sunrise is a funny thing, though. Although it might be something that I feel really excited/determined to do, my discipline tends to be lacking because the bed is just really more cozy when you’re supposed to get out of it 🤷‍♀️



But when I’m intentional, push through that initial desire to hit snooze, and make it happen... it’s magical. The air just hits differently that early in the morning. Everything is so stunning in anticipation of this glorious sunrise. And when it comes up, oh my gosh. 🔥 It never disappoints.


During our last beach trip, I made it a point to get up each morning in time to see the entire sunrise. Claiming “relaxation while on vacation” was usually more enticing, but the second I stepped out the door (with coffee in hand, of course) I couldn’t get a smile off of my face. I felt so calm and at peace. And SO very excited.



The world is so incredible to me that early in the morning. And on the beach?! Nothing compares. I absolutely love watching everything shift from the subdued, moody dawn; and waiting... just waiting. There’s a special calm during this transition. Then all of a sudden, it’s like a chorus starts. Everything starts to wake up. It’s beautiful. Glorious. I can’t take my eyes away from the incredible views.

[I ended up with close to one thousand pictures of the sunrise during this trip. Only three sunrises. This is how much I love them and how in awe I become!]



The ocean is my ultimate happy place. So it’s only natural that it embodies the most magical, surreal sunrises for me. With the air and sound of the waves crashing, it’s a sublimely therapeutic experience. Combined with sand under my feet, windy salty hair, and the sun glowing... it’s just so special.

Being at the beach really re-centers and grounds me. I really can’t, and don’t ever want to, get over it.


 

My deep appreciation for a sunrise actually started way back during my swimming career. There were *many* sunrises that I swam through (think, 4:45am practice start time 😖). I had a really hard time that early in the morning... I was always too cold and too tired. I could not deal.



But towards the end of a practice, I could always count on my sunrise - they were like a promise and a reward. A “you did the hard thing and it’s almost done. Look at this present I have for you” vibe. And then I had the rest of my day to feel energized by that stunning view and feeling wonderfully accomplished.



I don’t want to go through life taking sunrises for granted. I want to be intentional about making the time for leaning into things that spark an indescribable joy. We could all stand for a little more joy in our lives. 🌞


What is your “sunrise” moment?! I’d love to hear from you in the comments below.




30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page